Today I found out where I am going to be interning and that I am with grade eight students!  I am so excited, I have an awesome school, amazing age group and a principal I know from when I was an elementary student!  This is really exciting and also makes me pretty nervous, now I'm so much closer to being an actual teacher!  So, I thought I would use this blog post to remind myself and give you all a few tips that I got from a Life as an Intern seminar I attended:
1. Teaching is like water - it takes the space you give it.
2. Don't load yourself up too quickly in internship, give yourself some time to grasp the situation in internship.
3. Know your limits because internship should not consume your whole life.
4. If you expect more from your students they will give you more.
5. Adapt rather than adopt - take resources but make them fit your classroom.
6. Have extras on hand, just in case an activity doesn't take as long as you assumed.
7. Your coop is not there to hold your hand on a tight rope, they are there to be your net in case you fall.  Be your own teacher.
8. There is a curriculum outside of school that students' parents, sports, etc. are trying to teach them too so be wary of that when assigning homework, what can they handle?
9. Learn as much as you can over the summer about the subjects you will be teaching, time will fly in internship.
10. Nurture the relationships you create the people you meet in internship will be vital to your career following.

These 10 tips I got from three awesome teachers that took their time to come give advice to us for a seminar.  I hope this helps some of you!  I found it very helpful.

Also, I'm sure everyone knows I'm not the best at twitter so I've been trying to grow in that area.  This article was very helpful for me, titled 100 Ways to Use Twitter in Education by Jeff Dunn.  Take a look, it's pretty good!
5/23/2012 01:19:06 am

That is a great list of reminders. I am nervous about my internship as well in a K/Pre-K room. It is going to be such a great experience though so enjoy, learn, and grow. We're almost done!

Reply
Maddie D
6/5/2012 09:52:46 am

Hey Carly! I really liked this post. I went to the Life as An Intern presentation a year ago and the things that I learned and took out of it were much different..I regret not going to the most recent one! I really liked your list of tips. One tip I might add would be "don't be afraid to take risks" and "you will have lessons that flop, it's all about how you pick yourself up in the end". Thanks for the post!

Reply



Leave a Reply.